Teachers should be seen and not heard. – A. Mullen

Mullen, Anthony.  “Teachers should be seen and not heard.”  Blog.  Education Week.  January 7, 2010.  Retrieved from: http://blogs.edweek.org/teachers/teacher_of_the_year/2010/01/teachers_should_be_seen_and_no.html

Anthony Mullen is the 2009 National Teacher of the year.  He wrote a fictional story describing the absurdity of the corporate driven education reform movement which leaves out all input from the people working in the trenches.

“I’m thinking about the current health care debate, “I said. “And I am wondering if I will be asked to sit on a national committee charged with the task of creating a core curriculum of medical procedures to be used in hospital emergency rooms.”

The strange little man cocks his head and, suddenly, the fly on the wall has everyone’s attention.

“I realize that most people would think I am unqualified to sit on such a committee because I am not a doctor, I have never worked in an emergency room, and I have never treated a single patient. So what? Today I have listened to people who are not teachers, have never worked in a classroom, and have never taught a single student tell me how to teach.”

About dublinea
President - Dublin Educators' Association

Comments are closed.

