The War on Teachers 2: Teachers revolt. – C. Wade Gervin

Wade Gervin, Cari. “The War on Teachers 2: Teachers Revolt”.  Metro Pulse.  November 20, 2013.  Retrieved from: http://www.metropulse.com/news/2013/nov/20/war-teachers-2-teachers-revolt/

Although this is from Tennessee I’ve heard similar quotes from teachers right here in Dublin.  The testing, data, workload, and the tears are taking a toll.

I am tired of trying to plan five different lessons a day that hit 61 different indicators on a rubric, and that’s just to score a rock-solid 3. I am tired of the public being convinced that Knox County is moving in the right direction when I see good teachers at my school in tears at some point during the day on a regular basis. I am tired of having to waste instruction time to give tests every week, whether I need to or not, just to have data.

About dublinea
President - Dublin Educators' Association

Comments are closed.

